Touch 4 States at Four Corners, Arizona

An interesting place to stop off is the Four Corners area consisting of southwest Colorado, northwest New Mexico, northeast Arizona and southeast Utah. This is the only place in the United States where you can visit 4 different states in the matter of a few footsteps. Located on the reservations of the Navajo Nation (Arizona, New Mexico and Utah) and the Ute Mountain Indian Reservation (Colorado), the area has a long and colorful history. This part of the country was first acquired from Mexico after the Mexican American War of 1848. Colorado was the first state to be defined in this location. A marker was place on the spot in 1912 to show the location of the 4 state boundaries. The monument was refurbished in 1992 with a bronze disk embedded in granite. Today, a large monument and flags of all 4 states stand on the site with Native American shopkeepers ready to provide snacks, commemorative T-shirts and Native American arts and crafts. Admission to the area is $3.00 per person with a small visitor center featuring a Demonstration Center with Native American artists. The park is open from 7 AM to 8 PM from June to September and from 8 AM to 5 PM from October through May. The entrance to the park is located 77 miles north of Kayenta, Arizona off US Highway 160 near the small Native American town of Teec Nos Pos, Arizona.